Kanye’s “Diamonds” in the “Fairy Tale” City|Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC

Last weekend I was browsing Youtube watching music videos.  I was in the mood for some old Kanye; the Kanye from his second album “Late Registration” that dropped in 2005.  Can you believe it’s been 10 years already?!  Time flies!

Anywho, I first watched Kanye’s “Heard ‘Em Say” video, which is my favorite track off that album, and then his “Diamonds from Sierra Leone” video.  As I was watching the video, I noticed something I hadn’t before.  Many of the location shots looked very familiar to me and it was then that I recognized where he was.  It was Prague!

I had only visited Prague within the past 3 years so when this particular video came out I wouldn’t have had any clue where the video was shot and, honestly, didn’t even pay attention to those details.  Now, however, I recognized the beautiful sights from my visit there and thought I would share some of those pictures with you all.

The city of Prague looks like it came straight out of a fairy tale!  It is a gorgeous city with baroque buildings and statues, cobble stone streets, castles, Gothic churches and over a millennium of history.  It stands as my favorite European city to date.

I took the metro from my hotel to the “Muzeum” stop and started my “explalking” from there.   I started at Wenceslas Square and walked to Old Town Square where I ended up meeting with my colleagues.  The first sight I saw there was the Medieval Astronomical Clock.  

Muzeum and Wenceslas Square

Muzeum and Wenceslas Square

Outdoor market at Wenceslas Square

Outdoor market at Wenceslas Square

The Medieval Astronomical Clock

The Medieval Astronomical Clock

My colleagues and I continued sightseeing together.  We walked further down into Old Town following the droves of tourists and arrived at Vltava River.  We then crossed the river via the Charles Bridge.  The Charles Bridge is one of the most visited sites in Prague and has the best views of the Vltava River.  It is made of cobblestone and lined with 30 baroque statues of Catholic saints and local street vendors and performers.

Vltava River with Charles Bridge (left) and the view of Prague Castle (top right)

Vltava River with Charles Bridge (left) and the view of Prague Castle (top right)

Charles Bridge

Charles Bridge

Charles Bridge

Charles Bridge

After crossing the bridge we walked up to Prague Castle.  Prague Castle happens to be the largest ancient castle in the world and was built during the 13th century.  It houses the Gothic masterpiece, St. Vitus  Cathedral which is the most dominant building within the castles walls and the most recognizable landmark in the city.  From the Castle you can also see a wonderful view of the city of Prague.

Prague Castle

Prague Castle

St. Vitus Cathedral

St. Vitus Cathedral

It was amazing sightseeing in Prague and a thumbs up to Kanye for choosing such a beautiful location for his video.

Leave a Reply

