Shanghai Shenanigans|CHINA

I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel that I stayed in in Shanghai!  I arrived in the evening which afforded me the opportunity to get a good night’s rest and then spend the entire following day exploring with my colleagues.

The hotel I stayed in. Top Left and Bottom Left: The Hotel Exterior Right: A performance inside the hotel's restaurant and lounge area.

The hotel I stayed in.
Top & Bottom Left: The Hotel Exterior
Right: A performance inside the hotel’s restaurant and lounge area.

In the morning we went straight to the metro to head to Lujiazui in the Pudong district to see the infamous Oriental Pearl Tower and the Jin Mao Tower.  Chinese architecture is more outlandish and detailed than the West and are a sight to see!

Left: The Oriental Pearl Tower Right: The Jin Mao Tower

Left: The Oriental Pearl Tower
Right: The Jin Mao Tower

It was a cold day in Lujiazui and I thought I was trying to be cute wearing no hat.  I was sadly mistaken along with most of my colleagues.  So we set off to look for the The People’s Square but first we had to find some hats!  In the process of trying to find hats we came across The Bund Sightseeing tunnel.  We weren’t too sure of what it was exactly but we knew that it would get us to the other side of Huang Po River and maybe from there we could find The People’s Square.

As we descended into the ground by escalators, we discovered, to our delight, vendors selling all kinds of souvenirs and clothes – including winter hats!  All of us purchased hats which we donned on quickly and happily headed toward The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel.  For 50RNB ($8USD) the ride through the tunnel was one of the weirdest, bizarre, psychedelic light shows I have ever experienced!  After the ride, one of my colleagues said that it would have been cheaper to take drugs for the same experience!   BOL!  I liked it!  It was different and it is just a part of the whole Shanghai experience.  Definitely goes down in my mental log as one of those “Do you remember the time…” memories.

Top Left: Entrance to The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel To Right: Single Cart Trains used to travel through the tunnel Bottom Left & Right: Pictures from the Tunnel light show

Top Left: Entrance to The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel
To Right: Single Cart Trains used to travel through the tunnel
Bottom Left & Right: Pictures from the Tunnel light show

The good thing about the tunnel ride is that it took us from Pudong to the Bund where we got an awesome view of one of Shanghai’s popular skylines.  There were a lot of tourist and sightseers on this side of the river.  Most of the sightseers were Chinese.  Many were with groups of people who you could tell apart by the clothes they were wearing.  Many of them had either the same t-shirts on or the same color clothing.  Among the sightseers there was the cutest group of elderly Chinese women, all about the same height, wearing red clothes.  They were so excited about their picture taking and I wanted to take a picture with them.  So, I asked them if I could take a picture with them and even though they could not understand my language they knew exactly what I was saying!  They then all took off their hats, fixed their hair and clothing and scurried over to me smiling and excited to take a picture.  My colleagues then joined in and then we spent the next 15 minutes taking pictures with everyone’s individual camera while onlookers took pictures of us.  After we were all done, the little Chinese women exclaimed multiple times, “xie xie” (pronounced “sheh sheh” which means “thank you” in Mandarin and we were on our way.

Top: The Red-wearing, nice-Chinese-old-lady Clan (lol) Bottom:  Locals riding mopeds and bicycles

Top: The “Red-wearing-ice-Chinese-old-lady” Clan (lol)
Bottom: Locals riding mopeds and bicycles

After searching for a while for The People’s Square I was starving! I’m not too comfortable with Chinese street food (don’t judge me!) so I ran into a nearby Starbucks – Thank God for Starbucks. It’s international! – and bought myself a sandwich that I could pronounce and understand the contents of.   We later continued our “explalking” (explore walking) until we came to a big mall and eventually had some authentic Chinese food for lunch and, to be honest, it was the best Chinese food I’ve ever tasted!

Shanghai street food hustle

Shanghai street food hustle

Shopping in Shanghai

Shopping in Shanghai

After lunch and never being able to find The People’s Square, we all opted to go to the Underground Fake Market where you can find the best bootlegs of everything! … but I have no idea what I’m talking about. **wink**  You can find everything in China for like a fraction of the price you would pay for it back home which only makes perfect sense since EVERYTHING is made in China!

I ended my evening with a can of cold Chinese Milk Tea, $0, soar feet and a great big smile!

 

***

Here’s an article posted some years back by CNN called “51 things you may not know about Shanghai but should ” that will give you a little bit of History on Shanghai.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

