When Retreat is NOT An Option

I haven’t been blogging for a while… I know.  Just going through some stuff and learning stuff along the way.  Came across this post on Facebook and it pretty much summed up what is required of me during this trying season:

patience_jpg

The word that struck me the most was

ENDURE

… I’ve never had to “endure” before within a situation like this.  I’m so used to running away, retreating from whatever it is that raises its head to hurt me, bring drama into my life or disturb my peace…. but not this time.  I’m in a situation where I MUST endure.  This is the first time in my life my circumstance requires me to remain standing in a situation that is most painful and most uncomfortable… and I have not liked it one bit!  It’s easier to walk away from the situation to stop the pain and confusion….. BUT…. I am mature enough to know now that retreating is not going to solve the problem.  The only way to confront the problem and solve it is to remain standing in the suffering.

**SIGH**

So, Lord… how do I endure?  I don’t know how to…. you’re going to have to show me how to and give me the strength to do it.  This is the position I have taken now in my life.  I can not do with my ability so you’re going to have to help me, God.

 

Sometimes we must endure beyond the time limit we expected for our sufferings, afflictions and tribulations to last. That is where our patience and trust in God is REALLY tested and patience proves to be a most difficult virtue to maintain.

I have read this scripture many times before but it is such a REALITY for me now:

“…we  also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces patience; patience, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”  –  Romans 5:3-5

A comfort to my soul is the words of Christ where He stated:

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have tribulations. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  –  John 16:33

What a sobering and peace giving thought.  The world and its sufferings have nothing on my savior and the peace that I receive through Him when I put all my burdens at His feet.  Just typing this is making me smile.

I pray for strength and peace for all of us who have to endure.  I’m encouraged to know that when we have completely endured whatever it is that was set for us to, we come out stronger and better than we were before.  Every circumstance is for a time and a reason and a lesson is to be learned.  We see the reality of God and can receive so much from our sufferings if only we allow ourselves to see that our tribulations are NEVER intended to be in vain.

I’ll be back to posting my travels soon.  Just have PATIENCE with me… 🙂

 

**I dedicate this blog to my dear friend, Alisha who is an example of endurance and how beautiful a soul can become in the process.**

 

 

Leave a Reply

